From:
Date: September 25, 2010
Subject: WSA Weekly Newsletter Sep 15, 2010 Issue



Dear First_Name,


https://media.campusgroups.com/upload/image_81680_d50598a3c672a1aea9b60174e9b087c9.jpg

WSA Weekly Newsletter

September 15, 2010, Issue #1

 

 

WSA Club Announcements

 

-          Welcome back ECs! We have great events planned and are so excited about this upcoming year!

 

-          Welcome RCs! We hope you all enjoyed the Women’s Welcome Speaker Series yesterday. The house was PACKED, the speakers were INSPIRING and the reception was TOP NOTCH! ABIG thanks to Nitin Nohria, Francis Frei, Kathleen McGinn, Amy Cuddy, and the WSA Board for encouraging all RC women to LEAN FORWARD as they embark on this incredible 2 year journey! Stay tuned for great photos and a recap article on the event in next week’s Harbus.

o   Key Questions from the Audience: Am I on the WSA Listserv?

 

§  RCs, you’re receiving this email…that means yes! The joy of the WSA above any other club: your sign up is automatic.

 

§  If any women in your section were inadvertently not added to the listserv, please email your RC Interim WSA Section Reps below and / or come introduce yourself and sign up at the WSA Career Fair table next week!

 

-          The new WSA logo is finally here! Thanks to VP of Social Media, Pooja Mehta for the incredible work put into this over the summer break.

 

-          A new WSA website is just around the corner! Stay tuned for launch in late September!

 

 

WSA Club Events 

Academics:

2010 Baker Scholar and 2011 First Year Honors Announced 

From Harvard Square to the Oval Office 

Internship/ Second Semester Field Study Opportunity: GoGirl Finance

CPD:

CPD Prep Day Industry Leaders and Managers Wanted

Careers in Investment Management

Ivy Exec Membership

Women Inspiration & Enterprise (wie) Symposium

Moms & Partners:

 Join HBS Student Moms Group

Partners: Surviving and Thriving Together at HBS

Social:

Women’s Golf Lessons

WSA Reps:

RC Section WSA Rep Information Sessions

 

WSA 2010-2011 Leadership Team

Please feel free to reach out to anyone on the team with your questions, concerns, and ideas! And join us at the WSA table at the RC Club Fair to learn more about how you can get involved!

VP of Academics: Amanda Adler (aadler@mba2011.hbs.edu),  Andrea Ellwood (aellwood@mba2011.hbs.edu)

VP of Admissions: Kira Epler kepler@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Alumni: Megan Lesko mlesko@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Buddy Program: Jessica Lackey jlackey@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Career and Professional Development (CPD): Jennifer Lee jlee@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of WSA Conference: Rachael Hamilton rhamilton@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of JC Diversity: Mariah Sheriff msheriff@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Moms & Partners: Radka Dohnalova (Moms: rdohnalova@mba2011.hbs.edu) , Sigrún Jónsdóttir (Partners: sjonsdottir@partners.hbs.edu)

VP of Philanthropy: Marina Nasman mnasman@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Social and Community: Tina Wie twie@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Social Media: Pooja Mehta pmehta@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Speakers: Suchita Prasad sprasad@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of Sponsorship: Jessica Rabl jrabl@mba2011.hbs.edu

VP of WSA Reps: Betsy Williamson ewilliamson@mba2011.hbs.edu

 

Academics

 

Title:  2010 Baker Scholar and 2011 First Year Honors Announced

WhatCongratulations!

-          CONGRATS to the recent 2010 female graduates who earned the esteemed award of Baker Scholar for exceptional academic performance in both years at HBS!

-          And CONGRATS to the 2011 female ECs who earned First Year Honors for their incredible contributions to the classroom!

For More Information: Click of the MyHBS links below

Baker Scholar: http://my.hbs.edu/mbadocs/admin/quick_info/academics/guidelines/honors/mba_high_distinction.jhtml;$sessionid$4TI1Z5IAAAFKTR04CQPCFFY

First Year Honors:

http://my.hbs.edu/mbadocs/admin/quick_info/academics/guidelines/honors/first_year.jhtm

 

 

TitleFrom Harvard Square to the Oval Office

When: Application Due: 9/30/10

What:  Run for office! Be the candidate! Survive an election!  Learn the skills you’ll need in WAPPP’s political training program.

From Harvard Square to the Oval Office ('Oval Office') is a non-partisan initiative of the Women and Public Policy Program that provides a select group of Harvard graduate students with the training and support they need to ascend in the electoral process at the local, state and national levels.

Participate in skills-training sessions with the nation’s foremost campaign strategists, fundraisers and organizers.  Meet and bond with a select cohort of exceptional women.  Engage in “behind-closed-door” mentoring sessions with elected women about their experiences running for and holding office.  Past speakers include Secretary of State Hillary Clinton (then Senator of NY), former Governor Christie Todd Whitman (R-NJ), Congresswoman Anne Northup (R-KY) and Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA).

Online applications must be received by THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 at 12 o’clock noon. Selected students will be notified via email by October 22nd.  The Oval Office program is open to all Harvard University graduate students, including international students. 

For More Information: Applications may be found online at: https://wappp.wufoo.com/forms/from-harvard-square-to-the-oval-office-application/.  For questions, please contact Megan Kearns via email at Megan_Kearns@harvard.edu

 

 

TitleInternship/ Second Semester Field Study Opportunity: GoGirl Finance

What:  GoGirl Finance is seeking first and second year students interested in working on an exciting new online financial literacy game targeting women. Founded by Caryn Effron, GoGirl’s mission is to empower women ages 20 to 45 with much-needed financial literacy by creating a Facebook game that provides the tools for gaining confidence and independence when dealing with money.

Activities could include: working with game developers to manage implementation of game design document into a game prototype and a first-stage game for launch; reviewing the personal finance content/curriculum that is integrated into the game; assisting in fundraising/sponsorship process by helping with investor presentation, business plan and business model; assisting with female-targeted marketing and press functions in advance of launch; conducting research on gaming platforms as well as target market. Any technology, new media or gaming experience would be highly valuable but not necessary.

This is a great opportunity for first or second years who would like to work on a start-up endeavor part time or are interested in potential second semester field studies. The company may also be hiring interns for the summer of 2011.

For More Information: interested, please contact Julia Straus (jstraus@mba2011.hbs.edu) or Samantha Lynch (slynch@mba2012.hbs.edu)

 

CPD

 

TitleCPD Prep Day Industry Leaders and Managers Wanted

When: Application Due: September 24th

What:  CPD is seeking ECs to serve as PREP Days Industry Managers to be PAID $1,000 for the role (see attached Job Description and Application).  We encourage interested students to apply for a PREP Days Industry Manager job for any industry they feel qualified to lead.  Applicants will be interviewed by CPD Sector Managers and selected based on their fit, qualifications, and faculty reference. Please note, this is not the final agenda for Prep Days and specific programming is subject to change. Please let us know if you have any questions.

For More Information: Please email Mike Colelli at mcolelli@hbs.edu

 

TitleCareers in Investment Management

When: Application Due: September 27, 2010 to mbarecruiting@wellington.com with your name, email address, school and class year.

  • Event Date: Thursday, September 30, 2010, 6:30 – 8:30 pm

Where:  Event is in Boston, MA. See attachment for details.

What:  Fidelity Investments, MFS Investment Management, and Wellington Management Company, LLP are co-hosting a networking event for RC women and minority students to learn about careers in Investment Management.  The evening will begin with an overview of Investment Management followed by a panel discussion and networking reception with successful investors from Fidelity Investments, MFS, and Wellington Management.  

For More Information: Please email Mike Colelli at mcolelli@hbs.edu

 

 

TitleIvy Exec Membership

What:  Designed specifically to meet the needs of MBAs from top ranked programs, Ivy Exec has become a trusted recruiting tool used by companies such as Goldman Sachs, World Bank, McKinsey, JPMorgan, Google, and other top firms looking to hire high-caliber professionals.

Ivy Exec has agreed to provide Harvard MBAs with free All Access membership till May 31st, 2011. This will provide access to over 12,000 international job listings, relevant job alerts, and industry information.  

To activate your complimentary free trial, follow the instructions below:
If you have not yet joined Ivy Exec:
Use the link below to register with Ivy Exec & use promo code 1YRMAY31 during registration to activate the free trial
http://www.ivyexec.com/professionals/register/?ref=HARVARD2011&promo=1YRMAY31
Those who have already joined Ivy Exec:
Use the link below to sign in to Ivy Exec and use promo code 1YRMAY31 to upgrade your account.
https://www.ivyexec.com/signin/?ref=HARVARD2011&promo=1YRMAY31

For More Information: Please email Alex Baranpuria at alex@ivyexec.com

 

 

TitleWomen Inspiration & Enterprise (wie) Symposium

When: September 20, 2010

Where:  New York City 

What:  The WIE Symposium is an event uniting powerful and inspiring women of diverse cultures, ages and backgrounds to share inspiration stories and ideas. Timed to coincide with the UN Millennium Development Goal review in New York, the event is co-hosted by Sarah Brown, Arianna Huffington, and Donna Karan, and includes keynote and guest speakers such as Melinda Gates, Ashley Judd, Aerin Lauder, Queen Rania, Christy Turlington and many more.

For More Information:

http://www.whiteribbonalliance.org/emailNews/invite/wie-09-10-10.cfm

http//:www.wienetwork.org

 

Moms & Partners

 

TitleJoin HBS Student Moms Group

What:  If you are a mother, pregnant or just want to be part of a community discussing how to combine career and family, please join us! This group will then have periodic get-togethers so that women can get to know one another and share experiences.

For More Information: Please email HBS Mom Liaison Radka Dohnalova to be added to the group: rdohnalova@mba2011.hbs.edu

 

 

TitlePartners: Surviving and Thriving Together at HBS

When: September 21, 2010, 6:30 – 8:00 pm

Where: Hawes 202

What:  Making the adjustment to life at HBS can be both difficult and rewarding, all at the same time. Please join your fellow first year partners and learn more about ways that you can make that transition go more smoothly and easily for both and your student. The session will run 6:30pm - 7:30pm, with a reception to follow from 7:30pm - 8pm.

For More Information: Please email Rachael Weisz, Associate Director, MBA Support Services, with any questions rweisz@hbs.edu

 

Social & Community

 

TitleWomen’s Golf Lessons

When: Four, one hour lessons over the next four weeks

Where: Newton Commonwealth Golf Course (12 minute drive from campus)

What:  The WSA is coordinating beginner golf lessons with a pro at Newton Commonwealth Golf Course.  The lessons will be structured as a set of four one hour lessons for groups of four-six people over four weeks offered Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.  (Ex. One group would go Sunday 9/26, Sunday 10/3, Sunday 10/10, Sunday 10/17.)  

The cost of the lessons is still to be finalized, but will be about $25/person (clubs and balls included). Transportation will need to be arranged by carpooling or taking a Zipcar from campus (Zipcar would be an additional cost to the group).   

Please fill out the following poll by Sunday 9/19 at noon if you would like to sign up for a group, and we’ll be in touch next Sunday to finalize the details: http://poll.hbs.edu/poll/taker/pollTaker.jsp?poll=128895

For More Information: Please email Jennifer Lee at jlee@mba2011.hbs.edu

 

WSA Reps

 

TitleRC Section WSA Rep Information Sessions

When: Your RC Interim WSA Rep (see below) will be in touch soon!

What:  Interested in being a WSA Rep?  General questions about starting the year?  Follow up questions from the Women’s Welcome? RC Interim WSA Reps are available to answer questions and serve as your section women’s representative between now and RC Elections in late September.

The following ECs did a GREAT job as WSA Reps last year and will be your go-to for advice on any of our four WSA pillars while your section gets elections under way!

Look out for an email from them regarding a time and place to discuss the WSA Rep role and how you can contribute to an amazing section experience for both women and men! Can’t make the date? The WSA will also have an RC-wide WSA Rep Info Session later this month so stay tuned!

Section A – Libbie Fritz: efritz@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section B – Michelle Ross: mross@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section C – Rachel Hamilton: rhamilton@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section D – Gayle Hameister: ghameister@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section E – Puja Ramani: pramani@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section F – Jessica Bell: jbell@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section G- Heidi Sherman: hsherman@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section H – Amy Huynh: ahuynh@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section I – Megan Lesko: mlesko@mba2011.hbs.edu

Section J – Jessica Lackey: jlackey@mba2011.hbs.edu